Back to the Future: Filming Locations Part 2

My second stop of the day was the location of the opening sequence from BTTF where Marty leaves Doc’s garage after finding out he was late for school.

For Part 1 of my visit: Marty McFly’s House click this link:

Back to the Future: Filming Locations Part 1

Doc’s garage in the opening scene was actually not a real building structure.  It was a facade they have put in a parking lot next to a Burger King in Burbank.  This is the scene from the movie

docs garage 1

 

This is the picture I took from the parking lot.  You can see the rain trench is still the same after 30 years.  The power lines and trees are all still intact untouched.

BTTF Docs Garage 1

 

As the movie pans when Marty rushes to school, he passes a Burger King.  The Burger King is a real location that uses that parking lot.  The restaurant still exists, and looks modern.

Here’s a screen shot from the movie

docs garage 2 movie

 

Here’s the shot I took from the sidewalk, doing my best to replicate the shot from memory.  Everything is about the same, only updated to 2016-17 updates to the buildings and cars.

BTTF Docs Garage 2

 

I did enjoy a combo meal at the Burger King while I soaked it all in.  I was the only one with the hugest smile on my face.

Leave a Reply

