PROJECT 501ST: IMPERIAL SCOUT TROOPER BOOTS – PART 2

After the vinyl has been stretched and formed to shape, it is time to trim and glue them to the shoe.

This is the stuff you want to use. It isn’t super harsh in fumes and not dangerous to touch like super glue or other strong adhesive. I’ve tried actual 3M Carpet Spray Mount and it did nothing on holding the vinyl to the leather. E-6000 applies easily and not messy. It can also be forgiving and cleanable if you do inaccurately bond something together.

Excess vinyl trimmed and glued

Next up, trimming a 1/2 strip of vinyl for the “masking strip”. This will cover up the little holes you made while pinning the vinyl on the shoe. This is screen accurate and found on the Scout boots in the movie

Using E-6000 again, glue the strip across the the upper part of the sole and allow to dry.

Making the calf collars is a little tricky. For the scout boots, the height should end right under the knee but not in the of the knee hard armor. Since I don’t have the hard armor yet, I estimated about 1-2 inches below the back of my knee. Before doing any cutting, I did a mock up on newspaper and put it up to my boot/leg to make final adjustments.

Making the cut on the vinyl

After cutting 2 sheets, I’ll need to fold down the top and make a clean looking hem to the top of the boot to make it a little more professional and cleaner looking. Thanks to my mum for helping out in this area.

Velcro will then be applied to the outer. Making sure the hard loop side is on the outer flap and the soft loop side is on the inner flap. I used masking tape to hold in place before applying to vinyl for fine adjustments to my leg with the underarmor on.

Before attaching and anchoring to the boot, I wanted to make fine adjustments. I used masking tape to hold it in place on the boot so I can wear it and walk around to make sure everything works out before the permanent anchor.

While making the fine adjustments, I pinned where the anchor will be. Many 501st Scout Troopers used rivets to hold in place. I felt that rivets may be too harsh if sticking out inside the boot and rubbing against the foot while walking. I decided to add to sew “tacks” to hold the collar flaps in place.

Making 2 sew “tacks” to hold collars in place

Next up is to make the cover flap. This will hide the 2 pieces of vinyl you have used on the boot and is what Industrial Light and Magic used on the movie screen scout boots. I had to mock up another newspaper test before cutting the actual vinyl to be sure everything lines up.

Flaps measured and cut. Back to the E-6000 glue to bond to the boot.

Flaps bonded and allowed to dry. Biker Scout boots done!!! If you like this post, please follow me on Facebook 😀

Now I have to wait for the hard armor to come in. The right boot will get the holdster treatment for the blaster.


Picture courtesy of 501st Legion

2 thoughts on “PROJECT 501ST: IMPERIAL SCOUT TROOPER BOOTS – PART 2

    1. I used vinyl called “marine vinyl” for the boots. It is a thicker more durable vinyl made for use on boats and outdoor purposes. For 501st approval purposes, the marine vinyl is acceptable. The faux leather can work as long as it doesn’t have any distinct patterns or designs on it that would make it non-canon. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

