TRANSFORMERS: GEN 1

“This is the quintessential 80’s cartoon that still hits hard in every market today. It delivered what a kid wanted in a cartoon! Robots destroying other robots. Robots that were the size of cities. Insect robots, Robots that transformed into even bigger robots. Robots who’s heads turned into robots. Robots that transform into bigger robots against other transforming robots! Mecha in cartoons never has been the same ever since the Transformers storm blew through my life in a way this show did!…” …Taken from Linda’s awesome little article corner on YouBentMyWookie.com. Be sure to check her awesome updates every Friday on YouBentMyWookie.

This inspired me to dig up my old Transformers toys just to relive the good ol’ days of great 80’s cartoons. Transformers was and still is one of my favorite 80’s cartoon/toys of all time. I remember wanting everything Transformers as a kid. I remember my Mom threw me a Transformers birthday party one year. She went out to do party favors in TF bags, TF plates and napkins, the works! (Love you Mom!!!). She also went out of her way in the mornings to the local Toy’s R Us near “report card” time to reward me with a new Transformer if I did well that quarter in elementary school. Bribing works!!! My cousin and I would have epic battles with Transformers. He always found a way to beat me in our battles with a secret weapon named GI JOE. (BOOOO!!!).

Well after 26 years since the release of the original Transformers, I still have most of my collection minus the small pieces and weapons. These were the only toys that survived the purge while growing up.

Optimus Prime. One of my prized possessions.

Soundwave. One of the best and badass Transformers ever.

Frenzy, Ravage and Laserbeak. They complete Soundwave very well. I’m sad that I lost Rumble 😦 I remember these were the first Transformers toys that started it all for me.

Dirge and Ramjet. The second generation of Decepticon jets after Thundercracker, Skywarp and Starscream.

Kickback of the Insecticons. Nosecone of the Technobots and leg of Computron.

Twintwist and Blur

Gnaw the Sharkticon

Galvatron

Omega Supreme – so bummed I lost his arms 😦

Blitzwing and Astrotrain. The best triple changers!

Menasor – formed by the Stunticons (Motormaster, Drag Strip, Dead End, Breakdown, Wildrider)

Aerialbots – formed Superion (Silverbolt, Air Raid, Fireflight, Skydive, Slingshot)

Constructicons – formed Devastator (Scrapper, Mixmaster, Long Haul, Scavenger, Hook, Bonecrusher)

Dinobots …my favorites ^_^ (Grimlock, Slag, Sludge, Snarl, Swoop)

My little lunchbox that I took to school. Yesh, I still have it. 0_o

…and just a tad of the newer stuff that gets me all giddy. (Masterpiece Megatron w/o U.S. Customs modification, Masterpiece Optimus Prime US Edition, Encore Megatron, and Revoltech Transformers)

Thanks to Linda and all the Transformers fans out there. No thanks to Michael Bay for obvious reasons -.-

4 thoughts on “TRANSFORMERS: GEN 1

Leave a Reply

