THROWBACK: CARDS AND COMICS PART 1

I remember the days back in grade school where I would check every Tuesday or Wednesday over the phone the night before calling the local comic book store (do these exist anymore? I can’t seem to find one anywhere in the local area) as they would record on their answering machine on what is being released the following day. If a title I was reading/collecting was going to drop, I would beg my mom to drive me there after school so I can spend the little allowance I had on some good reads and artwork.

It was like Charlie and the Chocolate Factory when Charlie was picking out chocolate at the candy store, only I was picking out the comic books instead. I had to be sure the books had my favorite artist. Not only on the cover, but the story inside as well. (I hated when they only did the covers and had some horrible artwork inside!!!!!). I read and collected during the time of Jim Lee, Marc Silvestri, Todd McFarlane, Wilce Protacio and all the other Marvel elites that left and formed Image Comics. I still had love for Marvel’s X-Men series, but Image had the hot titles and stories going that I couldn’t resist. Some of the titles were:

Wetworks
WILDCATS
GEN 13
CyberForce
Spawn
Team 7
WitchBlade
The Darkness
The MAXX

My favorite artists were: Jim Lee, Marc Silvestri, Todd McFarlane, J. Scott Campbell, Jae Lee, Michael Turner, Travis Charest and many more.

Not only did I read/collect comics, but I did cards and toys as well. Cards were not a new thing for me as I collected baseball cards before. A few sets I still have were my favorites. The Marvel Universe, Wildstorm’s WILDCATS, and XMEN.

The Marvel Universe had a great concept of taking individual cards and being able to “combine” them into their sub universes.

WILDCATS by Jim Lee

Yeah…I’m a nerd, and proud of it 😛

Part 2 will continue with the books I collected. Stay tuned!

Leave a Reply

