MEGA AT-AT: Pure Awesome

Ever since I watched Empire Strikes Back back in the early 80’s, I was hooked on the awesomeness of the All Terrain Armored Transport aka AT-AT. I was a huge fan of Dinosaurs. This was just that, but made of metal and equipped with laser guns. My parents were never able to afford an AT-AT toy back in the 80’s. I always used my imagination and became an AT-AT myself crushing my Star Wars figures with my hands. (yes, you gotta use what you have, imagination and creativity when you’re a kid).

Now, 25+ years later as I can afford toys that I always wanted, Hasbro has made a successor to their old 80’s mold that was never to scale. They call it the Mega AT-AT. Mega, yes. AT-AT, sure. It lives up to the name. Capable of holding up to 20 figures, this thing stands over 2 feet tall!!!. Onward to the pics!

How I got it through the mail. Original Hasbro outer boxing just like the Mighty Muggs.
Photobucket

Out of the outer box… front and back packaging.
Photobucket

Photobucket

No AT-AT is complete without accessories! Damn you George Lucas and Hasbro for not including enough figures. I picked up Luke with grappling hook, extra Snow Trooper, AT-AT commander and battle packs to accompany the included AT-AT driver.
Photobucket

Out of the box
Photobucket

Some assembly required
Photobucket

Assembled!!!!
Photobucket

Cockpit view. You can easily fit about 7 figures in there. I would fill it up with more Snowtroopers if I can find anymore. The drivers and the commander will do now. The cool thing is phrases from the movie and lights go off when you hit the little hidden button.
Photobucket

“…Target, maximum firepower!!!!” AWESOME!!!!
Photobucket

Photobucket

…oh yeah, and you can see them through the cockpit window in front. 0_0
Photobucket

The body opens from both sides. A double deck hull can hold another 10 figures easily. Again, I wish I had 10 Snow Troopers to fit in there.
Photobucket

“red alert!!!!” …. freaking awesome LED lights up with movie sounds!!!
Photobucket

“…vader breathing”
Photobucket

The awesomness doesn’t end there. The back hull opens up to reveal a speeder bike and more room for more troops!!! The platform pops out to release the speeder bike
Photobucket

Photobucket

oh…wait, did I mention that you can re-enact the scene where Luke harpoons up the belly with some thermal detonators?
Photobucket

Photobucket

I must say the toy designers did their homework on this redesign. This AT-AT towers over the old design by another half. It is more to scale and has many features that keep you coming back for more. Stay tuned for a detailed comparison and the continual build of this play set. PEW PEW PEW!!!!

….I had to make custom shelf space for this thing
Photobucket

Leave a Reply

